East Central

Erin Birkenholtz
Area Director

The East Central Area for Special Olympics Iowa provides regional competition for athletes in the Iowa counties of:

  • Benton
  • Cedar
  • Iowa
  • Johnson
  • Jones
  • Linn
  • Washington

The East Central Area hosts regional competitions in:

  • Bowling (held annually in October in Cedar Rapids at Westdale Bowl)
  • Aquatics (held annually in April at Cedar Rapids Washington High School)
  • Spring Games (held annually in April in Cedar Rapids at Coe College)

Registration forms for state competitions and area events can be found on our Participation Forms page.

Sponsors for the 2017 East Central Area Spring Games: 


If specific competition dates are not listed below, they are yet to be determined for this year.