Special Olympics Iowa serves more than 12,000 athletes and Unified Sports Partners. Nearly 90 Special Olympics events and special programs are held each year throughout the state, giving athletes a fair opportunity to develop and demonstrate their skills and talents.

Thousands of volunteers are utilized each year at both the area and state levels to facilitate and manage sports competitions for the athletes. The key volunteers for scheduling and implementing the area competitions are the area directors. These volunteers understand and promote the Special Olympics mission, goals and philosophies.

Area directors ensure that quality Special Olympics sports training programs and athletic competition events are available to all eligible individuals in their assigned geographic area. They serve as the manager and team leader of all volunteers working in their local area. In addition to all of their program responsibilities, the area directors must also ensure financial support to sustain the area competitions.

These astounding area directors are dedicated to providing sport opportunities that challenge the athletes to achieve their full potential and attain their goals.

The state office is extremely thankful for the dedication of our area directors and their year-long support and commitment to the athletes, their families, volunteers and coaches. We are extremely proud to have you all as part of the Special Olympics Iowa team!

To learn more about each area, visit our Area Pages.

Central                            Jenni Hart

East                                  Nancy Shannon and Jane Bergenhahl

East Central                  Katie Shelor

North                               Norm Johnson

North Central               Liz Rusher and Lee Decicco

Northeast                       Joe & Eileen Wilson

Northwest                      Peggy Koele

South Central               Dawn Criss

Southeast                       Brad & Julie Benge

Southwest                      Martin Wright, Will Schafer & Kim Bentsen

West Central                 Debby Eldred