Special Olympics Iowa is pleased to announce the team that will be representing Iowa at the 2022 Special Olympics USA Games next year in Orlando! In a little less than one year – June 5-12, 2022 – more than 5,500 athletes and coaches from all 50 states and the Caribbean will travel to Orlando to compete before more than 125,000 fans, spectators, and volunteers.

Among those over 5,500 athletes and coaches will be Team Special Olympics Iowa:

Athletics Bowling
Head Coach: Rob Wagner Head Coach: Julie Pence
Assistant Coach: Brenda Haefner Assistant Coach: Chad Pence
Assistant Coach: Angela Wright Nicole Skelley
Tomi DeGrado Shelly Snyder
Abbi Stastny Tyler Leech
Amber Sir Patrick Gulbranson
Alexandra Fountain Jody Sheriff
Abigail Cvrk Kristy Sheriff
Charity Hodson Tasha Conklin
Brandon Baier Kevin Conklin
Collins Clingman
John Flannery Cheerleading
Patrick Smith Head Coach: Kylene Simpson
Jonathan Blankenship Assistant Coach: Davina Valdez
Nathan Paulsen Assistant Coach: Cody Simpson
Assistant Coach: Micah Banks
Bocce Brandon Redmond-Phillips
Head Coach: Molly Vander Linden Leon Nguyen
Assistant Coach: Laurie Fallon Jazzmin Johnson
Kim Lively Dustin Burke
Matthew Johnson Emily Mulder
Sue Davis Trasister Carter
Cari Davis Daniel Custis
Gracy Elsenbast Ian Kastner
Emma Harle Teddy Velman
Emma Marlow
Erin Peterson Equestrian
Head Coach: Kim Stine
Flag Football  Abbie Kliegl
Head Coach: Tim Atkin
Assistant Coach: Bruce Barnett Powerlifting 
Assistant Coach: Corey Leonhard Head Coach: Troy Betsworth
Eric St. Clair Assistant Coach: Rob Baldus
Chris Ashbaugh Amanda Bride
Matthew Trujillo Jessica Copple
Jay Small Mitchell Betsworth
Kevin Brockert Isaac Baldus
Angela Collins Joshua Davis
Adie Strong Kevin Ahrendsen
Danielle Mally
Brad Small Swimming
Travis Moss Head Coach: Mark Robinson
Assistant Coach: Michelle Bussanmas
Golf Christina Rasmussen
Head Coach: Keith Pease Kaitlin Colwell
Jesse Pease Desiree Peterson
Jason Pease Emily White
Brian Rolek Patrick Cunningham
Jill Southworth Keen Harvey
Adam Rininger
Intercollegiate Unified Basketball Preston Stevens
Head Coach: Tommy Schorer
Assistant Coach: Adam Walsh Tennis 
Austin Climer Head Coach: Sydney Dommer
Dallas Dircks Angela Dohrn
Dylan Soppe Alexandria Brooks
Elliot Lee Billy Habermann
Hayli Schumacher Nathan Williams
Cali Schmitz
Jaison Marks Youth Leadership Experience
Jenah McCarty Mentor: Lisa Klien
Maddie Schulte Jacob Whack
Training Tarlue
Head of Delegation: Jason Miller
Assistant Head of Delegation: Rhonda Schwarzkopf Additional Staff: Kevin Kemp

The USA Games will kick off on June 5, 2022, with the Opening Ceremony in Exploria Stadium.  The games will showcase 19 Olympic-style team and individual sports, including athletics (track & field), basketball, bocce, bowling, cheerleading, equestrian, flag football, golf, gymnastics, open water swimming, powerlifting, soccer, softball, stand up paddleboard, surfing, swimming, tennis, triathlon, and volleyball.

The USA Games will be hosted at various venues across Orlando, with the main location being ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at Walt Disney World Resort. Other sporting facilities across Orlando include Boardwalk Bowl Entertainment Center, Disney’s Typhoon Lagoon Water Park, Lake Minneola Waterfront Park, Lucky’s Lake, Orange County National Gold Center, Osceola Heritage Park, Rosen Aquatic Center, and USTA National Campus.

To learn more about the 2022 Special Olympics USA Games visit www.2022USAGames.org. Follow the organization on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.